I remember the pressure it was made under, I remember writing lyrics on the microphone, and at £50 an hour, that’s quite a pressure.
— Bono

Track List

  1. Gloria Lyrics
  2. I Fall Down Lyrics
  3. I Threw A Brick Through A Window Lyrics
  4. Rejoice Lyrics
  5. Fire Lyrics
  6. Tomorrow Lyrics
  7. October Lyrics
  8. With a Shout (Jerusalem) Lyrics
  9. Stranger in a Strange Land Lyrics
  10. Scarlet Lyrics
  11. Is That All ? Lyrics

October is the second album by Irish rock band U2, released in 1981.

The album featured spiritual themes, inspired by Bono, The Edge, and Larry Mullen, Jr.'s memberships in a Christian group called the "Shalom Fellowship", which led them to question the relationship between the Christian faith and the rock and roll lifestyle.

The album received mixed reviews and limited radio play.

October was released, appropriately, on October 12,1981.

Both of the album's two singles preceded the album's release; "Fire" and "Gloria" were released as singles in July and October 1981, respectively.

October was the start of U2's vision of the music video as an integral part of the band's creative work, as it was released during a time that MTV was first becoming as popular as radio.

The video for "Gloria" was directed by Meiert Avis and shot in the Canal Basin in Dublin.

In 2008, a remastered edition of the album was released, featuring remastered tracks, along with B-sides and rarities. Three different formats of the remaster were made available.