I’m better than I was by a long way, I am smarter and I know what works. Larry’s a better drummer. Adam is a better bass player and Bono is a better lyric writer and singer. It just takes us a little longer these days, because we have to spend the time to get to where we want to go. There are more false starts, I suppose.
— The Edge

Track List

  1. Beautiful Day Lyrics
  2. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For Lyrics
  3. Pride (In The Name Of Love) Lyrics
  4. With Or Without You Lyrics
  5. Vertigo Lyrics
  6. New Year's Day Lyrics
  7. Mysterious Ways Lyrics
  8. Stuck In A Moment You Can't Get Out Of Lyrics
  9. Where The Streets Have No Name Lyrics
  10. Sweetest Thing Lyrics
  11. Sunday Bloody Sunday Lyrics
  12. One Lyrics
  13. Desire Lyrics
  14. Walk On Lyrics
  15. Elevation Lyrics
  16. Sometimes You Can't Make it On Your Own Lyrics
  17. The Saints Are Coming Lyrics
  18. Window In The Skies Lyrics
  1. Vertigo (Live) Lyrics
  2. I Will Follow (Live) Lyrics
  3. Elevation (Live) Lyrics
  4. I Still Haven't Found What I'm Looking For (Live) Lyrics
  5. All I Want Is You (Live) Lyrics
  6. City Of Blinding Lights (Live) Lyrics
  7. Sometimes You Can't Make it On Your Own (Live) Lyrics
  8. Miss Sarajevo (Live) Lyrics
  9. With Or Without You Lyrics

U218 Singles is the first single-disc collection - including 16 of their best-known songs. Also included are two brand-new tracks recorded with producer Rick Rubin at Abbey Road Studios in London: “The Saints Are Coming” (with Green Day) and “Window in the Skies.”Whittling down the back catalog of one of the most popular and respected bands of the last quarter-century to a single-disc collection is bound to inspire argument and dissent from the fans and faithful over what is included—and all that gets left behind—and U2’s 26-year career is as celebrated and beloved as any band of their generation. U218 Singles doesn’t try to please everyone, wisely sticking to the acknowledged high points (and there are many) between 1983’s War and 2004’s How to Dismantle an Atomic Bomb. Nitpickers may quibble that the collection leans too heavily on the band’s most popular albums and skips the (admirable if less anthemic) techno-pop tangents of Zooropa and Pop and the earnest energy of the Boy/October years, but the musical majesty accumulated here testifies to the undeniable power and emotion U2 can muster in a four-minute pop song. Two new Rick Rubin-produced tracks don’t break new ground for the band, but both would fit snugly somewhere in the U2 canon—“Window in the Skies” is pure late-period arena rock with a typically towering falsetto chorus, while Green Day helps inject some October-era urgency into “The Saints Are Coming”. The sum of these 18 tracks is a first-rate primer, perfect for that 10-year-old niece or nephew who thinks U2’s big break was that iPod commercial. —Ben Heege